Civil Services Exam

Civil Services Exam

Civil Services Exam The UPSC – Union Public Service Commission conducts the Civil Services Exam every year. The successful candidates in this exam go on to join various services in the government. Some of them are the Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service and the Indian Revenue Service. The Civil Services syllabus consists of various subjects which the commission considers important for bureaucrats to know. The examination consists of three stages, which are:

● Preliminary Examination: Two papers, General Studies and CSAT conducted over the course of one day.
● Main Examination: Nine papers conducted over the course of five days. The papers are:
○ English
○ Compulsory Indian Language
○ UPSC Essay Paper
○ General Studies I
○ General Studies II
○ General Studies III
○ General Studies IV
○ Optional Paper I
○ Optional Paper II
● UPSC Interview

Candidates who clear all three stages and make it to the final merit list are called to join a service. The allocation of a service is based on a number of factors such as the preference indicated by the candidate, availability of vacancies and the position of the candidate in the merit ranking.

Securing a position in the merit list requires extensive preparation. Over the years, the number of candidates appearing for this examination has grown manifold. Many study centers and preparatory classes have mushroomed all over the country to capitalise on this trend. However, a diligent aspirant does not need to attend coaching for the exam. They just need to prepare with dedication and discipline. The strategy for preparation should also be sound and cover all aspects of the exam. In addition to this, access to good study material for the Civil Services syllabus cannot be overemphasized. The focus should be maintained on current affairs related to the exam all the while studying the basic and advanced concepts that are included in the syllabus.
It is helpful to follow the strategy of a UPSC topper and tweak it according to your own strengths. You can get some insight into a topper’s mind as UPSC.

Civil Services Exam Pattern:

The pattern of Civil services examination has been designed to test the academic expertise of a candidate and that candidate’s ability to present himself/herself in a systematic and coherent manner. The examination pattern intends to assess the overall intellectual traits and understanding level of the candidates.

The UPSC Civil Services Exam is conducted in two stages namely, Prelims and Mains, which are then followed by an interview.  

Scheme and subjects for the Preliminary and Main Examinations are as follows:

Preliminary Examination (400 Marks)

(This is also called Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) and is a common test for all applicants)

  • The Civils Prelims Exam Pattern consists of two papers of 200 marks each Both the question papers are of the objective type (multiple choice questions) of two hours each The question papers will be set in both Hindi and English.
  • However, questions related to English Language Comprehension skills would be provided only in English. Blind candidates would be allowed an extra 20 minutes of time for each paper

Mains Examination (2075 Marks)

  • Candidates who qualify Preliminary exam are called for Civils Mains exam and on the basis of marks secured in Main exam, they will be called for Interview
  • The total marks of Main exam and Interview sum up to produce final result
  • The written examination consists of the following papers:    

Civils Exam Qualifying Papers:

Paper I (Marks 300)

  • One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the candidates from the Languages included in the eighth schedule of the constitution

Paper II (Marks 300)

  • English Paper to be counted or merits (Technology, Economic Development,  Bio-diversity, Environment, Security  and Disaster Management)

Paper III 

  • Essay (Section 1)   200 Marks 
  • English Comprehension  and English Précis (Section 2)  100 Marks    (The level of paper would be Matriculation/10th standard  level)  

Paper IV

  • General Studies-I  250 Marks  (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World  and Society) 

Paper V

  • General Studies-II  250 Marks   (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations) 

Paper VI

  • General Studies-III   250 Marks (Technology, Economic Development,  Bio-diversity, Environment, Security  and Disaster Management)  

Paper VII 

  • General Studies-IV  250 Marks   (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude) 

Paper VIII 

  • Optional Subject-Paper I  250 Marks

Paper IX 

  • Optional Subject-Paper II  250 Marks 

Personality Test (Interview)   275 Marks

Grand Total   2075 Mark


Also Check: APPSC Latest Notification, Syllabus and Exam Schedule 2020