Civil Services Examination-2017 : Eligibility, Online Application Form, Qualification, Admit Cards

Civil Services Preliminary 2017

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) has released the notification for the recruitment of following Services.

i) Indian Administrative Service (IAS).

ii) Indian Foreign Service (IPS).

iii) Indian Police Service (IFS).

iv) Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service.

v) Indian Audit and Accounts Service.

vi) Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise).

vii) Indian Defence Accounts Service.

viii) Indian Revenue Service (I.T.).

ix) Indian Ordnance Factories Service.

x) Indian Postal Service.

xi) Indian Civil Accounts Service.

xii) Indian Railway Traffic Service.

xiii) Indian Railway Accounts Service.

xiv) Indian Railway Personnel Service.

xv) Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force.

xvi) Indian Defence Estates Service. xvii) Indian Information Service (Junior Grade).

xviii) Indian Trade Service.

xix) Indian Corporate Law Service.

xx) Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service.

xxi) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service.

xxii) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service.

xxiii) Pondicherry Civil Service.

xxiv) Pondicherry Police Service.


The Civil Services Examination will consist of two stages :

  • Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for the Main Examination  and
  • Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and posts noted above.

[embeddoc url=”” download=”all”]


    Nationality :

    For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India.

    For other services, a candidate must be either :

    • a citizen of India, or
    • a subject of Nepal, or
    • a subject of Bhutan, or
    • a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.


    A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2017 i.e., he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1985 and not later than 1st August, 1996. Necessary action to make corresponding changes in respective Rules/Regulations pertaining to various services is being taken separately.


    The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification.

    #4. HOW TO APPLY:

    Candidates are required to apply Online from February  22, 2017 using the website Detailed instructions for filling up online applications are available on the above mentioned website.


    The Online Applications can be filled up to 17th March, 2017 till 6:00 PM. The eligible candidates shall be issued an e-Admission Certificate three weeks before the commencement of the examination. The e- Admit Card will be made available in the UPSC website for downloading by candidates. No Admission Certificate will be sent by post.

    For more Details Visit :